Learning as Creating

I find myself thinking a lot about this article from today’s Inside Higher Ed. It’s a blog post with comments (now on a blog post that I hope will generate comments) on consuming and producing in education.

I am rethinking my final exam – coming up soon, of course. What do I want my students to do? Do I want them to show me that they memorized facts? That they know works of art from the Medieval period? Well, yes. But do I want more?

I think that I do. I’ve been asking them to “produce knowledge” all semester. I give them a certain amount of information – either through lecture or through readings that are pre-assigned. Then they have to DO something with that information when they come to class.

Any ideas for a final assessment/evaluation/exam for a class that’s been that way all semester?

Leave a Reply

