E-reading?

Fresh Air had the following story on today (April 27). Are any of you e-reading? Take a look/listen here.

PS. I love my Kindle!

4 Responses to E-reading?

  1. Maggie says:

    Thanks for the link. I love my kindle too!

  2. gretchenmckay says:

    Cool, Maggie. Do you miss “real” books?

  3. Maggie says:

    Not at all, but so far I’ve only been using the kindle for non-work related reading. I’ve used it every single night since I got it, and every once in a while I will be so lost in the book that I try to physically turn an electronic “page”.

    When I read for work, I really like to write all over the page and leave notes for myself. Although you can type in notes on the kindle, it is too clunky to be efficient. But I am looking forward to the technology proceeding enough that I can have electronic copies of my textbooks. My back wouldn’t break from carrying all my texts back and forth from home to work, and they’d be searchable, which would be very handy when you remember something but can’t remember where you saw it.

  4. gretchenmckay says:

    For work-related reading, I’ve used the Kindle to read PDF files or art history articles, but so far that’s all. I’ve read some non-fiction that are education-related, that I likely would not have read if it was not so speedy to get.

    For novels it is just great. But possibly “too” easy to get books — I keep buying and buying. But I love the feature of getting a “free” sample before you buy. I have a gazillion free samples so I can remember, “Oh, yeah, that was a book I wanted to read.” Can’t wait to take it on the road this summer!

Leave a Reply

