Wikis and Rome

I tried a new assignment this semester in the Roman Art course. Rather than a final paper, I had my students work collaboratively on a WIKI site through a free site that allows you to create WIKI work spaces: pbworks.com. Their assignment was to develop a Roman Art exhibit that would demonstrate to the viewer what life was like in Rome for all people from different social strata (patricians, plebeians, freedmen, soldiers, slaves). They had to present their WIKI and describe what they were attempting to do. I have to give a shout out to Steve Kerby, Chris Mathews, and Anita Thiernan for coming to my class as judges and listening to 90-minutes worth of WIKI explanation. They decided which group had the best WIKI (Group A won! I’m now trying to figure out if I can somehow get that exhibit on WiKipedia or somehow public and “live.”).

I am impressed by my students’ work on this project and I can see which students did what through the “page history” device. I’ll be interested to see what the students have to say about the assignment, but that will have to wait for the course evaluations. I asked some additional questions to probe at the kinds of assignments and in-class activities I gave them this semester to see how they evaluate them. I’ll be anxious to read what they think.

In Tech and the CFE plan to talk more about the use of WIKIs in collaborative writing next semester and hope you’ll join us for those conversations.

One Response to Wikis and Rome

  1. Robin Armstrong says:

    It sounds like you were pleased with the resulting wikis – I’d would love to see how you set up the assignment for them. I used wiki’s last semester but did not set it up for collaborative work, which of course is where wiki’s really shine. I don’t know how I would go about setting out the assignment for them and grading their individual contributions, even tho i do understand how to use the history feature on PBwiki. I would be very interested in some of our upcoming CFE meetings to maybe see your written assignment and hear how you graded them, if you would care to share.

Leave a Reply

